Motivation Waning, Vacation Winning

Today is the 23rd day of my summer vacation with the family here at our cabin in Pinecrest.  Blue skies, perfect weather, campfires, staying up late, watching movies, playing games,eating good food… ahhhh… and all my friends wonder why I stay here for so long every summer!  So relaxed, so content, so happy!

You must be thinking, “Sooooo… how are those work outs going for you, Laura?”

Well, now you’re just being mean.

I kid, I kid… I started P90X2 on June 27th and made it 6 days in a row, followed by one week off due to the in-laws being here and my embarrassment of jumping around and sweating all over the place like a crazed fool.  Okay, they were only here for 4 days and those extra 3 days of rest are because… uh… well… hmmmm… let’s just say vacation.  Yeah.  Had to rest due to all of the relaxing I have scheduled.

Yeah, that’s it.

And P90X2, WOW I didn’t know I could be SO FRICKING SORE!!!  I haven’t been so incredibly sore since I was taking boot camp, from head to toe, muscles I completely forgot I had!  (Thank goodness for foam rollers!) P90X2 is no joke and Tony Horton is a great instructor, very personable and funny and super muscley.  The moves are pretty challenging, some of the plyometrics seemingly impossible- like the Boing Push Up where you somehow miraculously jump your entire body, feet and hands off the floor, clap and land in push up position.

“You want me to do WHAT, Tony???”

I know if I stick with P90X2 and practice, I will be able to do those types of impossible moves… someday.  Not someday soon, but maybe, just maybe, someday.

Anyhoo, back to all that resting…

Party boat time!!!!!!

… and celebrating…

Happy 4th of July!

… and eating…

(cue choir of angels)

It’s just so nice to not have pressure on myself to get a workout or run in right now, so I’m trying not to worry about it too much.  However, today I noticed that it has been exactly one week since my last P90X2 session and 2 weeks since my last run.

From the windows surrounding our cabin, I can see people running on by and I feel like they are taunting me for my vacation-induced lazy ways.  That guy that runs by every morning around 9am, he has horrible posture but at least he’s consistent.  That young woman who runs by around noon every other day, she really needs a better jog bra but she sure is fast.  And then the mom, pushing a single stroller around 6 every other evening really needs to pull her shoulders back while keeping her elbows closer to her sides but just look at the strength she has in those legs!

It is so easy for me to sit here, shove hamburgers and homemade brownies in my face, while judging the runners as they pass.  I bet they would judge me and my inactivity too.  I wonder if they eat burgers and brownies.  They sure look like they’re having fun out there, so it must be true.

I’m not sure if all this means that I will actually work out today or just relax on the deck with a cold cocktail and good book…  so many choices… vacation is tough… now, I need a nap.

Alright fine, Vacation, you win.

4 thoughts on “Motivation Waning, Vacation Winning

  1. Pingback: Today’s Reason: Reasons | running4thereason

  2. Pingback: Vacation “Plans” | running4thereason

What do you think?