Expect the Unexpected

You can take the internet from the girl, but you just can’t take the girl from the internet!

It’s day 6 of summer vacation at our family cabin here in Pinecrest, California.  I expected to blog while here, going old-school style by way of HAND writing my posts, typing them into Notepad, and then snagging the nearby resort’s wireless connection to copy, paste and post.  Whadya know, they charge- an unexpected $5 an hour for some wee-fee love but I’m so grateful to connect even if just for 60 minutes, so that’s money very well spent.

On Monday, I was set to start P90X but started reading The Hunger Games instead since I’m probably the last person in the free world that hasn’t read it yet.  Needless to say, I didn’t quite have the time to press play on my friend Tony as that book is just as good as everyone says it is- I literally could not put it down.

And I thought teenagers were scary before! WOO!

On Tuesday, I had to start the second Hunger Games book of course so decided to take the kids out on a long bike ride to tire them out so I could get some reading time in later.  If you read my Muddy Buddy post, you know I do not do so well… okay, let’s just be honest… I am HORRIBLE on a bike so as the kids started pedaling on the down the street, I had to run to keep up with them. “Hold on kids, let’s go back to the cabin for a second.”  Excitedly put on my running gear, and off we went for a ride/run.

My little workout buddies.

I did not expect to run at all on this vacation but there I was, very happily and easily running.  It was my first run since the marathon, with my kids, in the beautiful forest, in heat, in altitude, and it truly felt AWESOME.

That’s not to say it was easy, however.  If you have a 5 and a 6 year old, you know what I mean.  Kids do not like hills and they love to complain about it.  Near the end of our first ride/run, my son was bawling his eyes out yelling how much he hates hills and that his knees really hurt.  Despite the crying, we got in 5 miles that day.

On our second ride/run the next day, I decided to approach the hills with the kids a little differently.  I told them they had to work hard to get as far up the hill as possible and when they couldn’t go anymore, I would give them a “big boost” where I would literally give them a big push up the hill which they really enjoyed.  I can only do that for so many miles though, and after about 4 miles, I told them to walk the bike up the hill while mommy goes up and down, getting in my hill repeats.  That day, we got in 6 miles.

My daughter is still in training wheels and getting a lot more confident on her bike while my son, refusing a big boy bike, is still on a tricycle.  Meaning, they go pretty much the speed of light on the downhills… and then I get in some speed-work, trying to catch up.

I never expected to get in any running up here.  I never expected that the kids could motivate me to run.  I never expected how good it would all feel.

Aren’t they cute?! 🙂

When the kids struggle up the hills, I automatically start saying, “You’ve got this!  You can do it!  Push up that hill and the downhill will be your reward!”  Don’t look at the top, just focus on the road! Finish strong!!!” After our ride/run yesterday, my daughter put her hand on my arm, looked into my eyes, considered me for a second, and said, “Mom, I’m gonna start calling you “Coach”.”

Awwwwww…

The thin mountain air confuses one’s brain into creating this necessary 6th food group.

On these runs, I notice something else I didn’t expect- my tummy.  Just a couple weeks off from running and lots of cabin treats (I have no will power whatsoever, I tell you!) and I can see it’s already catching up to me as I lob on down the path, tummy jiggling for the first time in over a year.  That’s barely fair.

But, truth be told, I don’t really care!  A few pounds here and there are easy to fix. Enjoying my vacation and discovering so much fun with my kids and spending this time with them are truly my priorities this summer.  Having this break from training, is really quite refreshing!  I’m having such a fun, relaxing time that I don’t want to follow a plan right now or log miles or count reps or worry about my sugar intake just because I HAVE TO.  Our vacation will be over before I know it and then, back to reality, back to training, back to nutritionally sound eating.

My wee-fee time is running out faster than expected and today we’re off to the beach to play and start on book 3 (what WILL Katniss DO NOW?????)… we ride/run again at sunset!

6 thoughts on “Expect the Unexpected

  1. Sounds like you’re having an awesome time! I loved the Hunger Games. P90X is pretty entertaining too, just in a sadomachistic way. Hope the rest of your vacation continues to be just as fun (if not more)!

What do you think?

