San Diego Marathon Training: Weeks 1, 2 & 3

If you know me or if you’ve been following my blog, you know that I completed my first marathon, the Nike Women’s Marathon, in October 2011 with Team in Training while raising close to $3000 for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  It was such an amazing experience that I decided to stay with TNT and attempt my second 26.2 at the Oakland Running Festival this coming March.

A girl reserves the right to change her mind, of course, and feeling a bit burned out from running following the marathon, decided to put off my second attempt at 26.2 until June 3rd, and will be running the San Diego Rock n’ Roll marathon instead.

People keep telling me that San Diego RnR is really rough.  Hot, crowded, and miles 22-26 (around Fiesta Island) are The Worst, no rock nor roll, no water stops, and no wind whatsoever.

You think that scares me?  Not quite.  Whenever someone tells me how hard San Diego is, I ask if it’s any harder than Nike and the response is always, “Oh no way!  Nike is harder!  Friends don’t let friends do Nike!  At least San Diego is flat!”

Nike Women's Marathon Elevation (aka: what was I thinking?)

San Diego Rock n' Roll Marathon Elevation (aka: ahhhhhhh!)

Now that it’s time to ramp up the training, it’s also time to revisit my goals for marathon #2:

1. Complete Fundraising Sooner Than Later.  Once again, I have committed to raise $2250 for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and am working hard to meet that goal as soon as possible.  With Nike, I found that I really wanted to focus on the running instead of the money and got really, really stressed about it the closer I got to race day.  I figure if I get the fund raising out of the way sooner than later this time, I’ll be able to focus more on the running and accomplishing the following goals… (it’s week 3 and I’m at 82% raised so it’s working, YAY!  My Auction for a Cure raised $1500 for LLS!!!!  THANK YOU to everyone for your bids & donations!)

2. Do It Faster.  Well, not that fast.  It took me 5 and a half freaking hours to complete Nike!  WHOA!  I blame the elevation as well as my lack of marathon knowledge and figure this one has got to be at least 30-60 minutes faster.  Honestly, I don’t really care about my speed- I believe that miles are miles are miles no matter how they are accomplished, speed is relative.  And as I am a marathon novice, just finishing the thing- no matter how long it may take- is really the greatest accomplishment.

3. Strength Train More. Distance running can be mastered via correct breathing as well as strong arms and a tight core.  I hit the weights only once a week and worked on isometrics once a week when training for Nike, but plan to up that to weights twice a week. I don’t mind weight training, boot camp trained me well for that, but fitting it into my schedule will be tough.

4. Add One More Run Each Week. I am a fan of my rest days and since we run long on Saturdays, on Sundays I rest.  I’ve started to add in short Sunday recovery runs and the occasional Monday tempo run, but haven’t been terribly consistent; nevertheless, I am going to do my best to increase my weekly mileage to about 30 miles.

5. Don’t Be Such a Wack-A-Doodle. Alright, alright, I KNOW I was a just a little, tiny bit the Honorary Mayor of Crazy Town with my constant obsession with the marathon. I’m still as obsessed (that is, passionate and dedicated) but now that I have already completed one, I can go into this next one with a lot more perspective, confidence, and knowledge. I can’t promise that I won’t go completely psycho like last time but I promise I will try to stay calm… well, calmer

WEEK 1 (2/5 – 2/11)
Sunday: Kaiser Permanente Half Marathon** (PR by 5 minutes!!!), 13.1 miles
Monday: REST (PRs take work- I was SOOOO tired & sore!)
Tuesday: Buddy Run, 3.33 miles
Wednesday: Elliptical 45 minutes followed by 30 minutes of strength training
Thursday: Track Run, 2.25 miles
Friday: REST
Saturday: Run, 7.5** miles
Total: 26.18 running miles

WEEK 2 (2/12-2/18)
Sunday: Run, 3 miles
Monday: Strength Training, 30 minutes
Tuesday: Buddy Run, 3.33 miles
Wednesday: Yoga, 1 hour
Thursday: Track Run, 3.25 miles
Friday: Elliptical 30 minutes followed by 30 minutes of strength training
Saturday: REST (woke up feeling like crap, very sore throat)
Total: 9.58 running miles

WEEK 3 (2/13-2/19)
Sunday: Run, 6 miles (felt great, held a good 9:12 pace the whole time!)
Monday: Run, 3 miles (tempo run on treadmill, 9:00 pace)
Tuesday: Buddy Run, 3.18 miles (after I officially felt SICK, SICK, SICK!!!)
Wednesday, Thursday & Friday: REST (stupid flu!)
Saturday: Run, 10 miles** (hoping this flu is gone and my mojo returns- wish me luck!)
Total: 22.18 running miles

(**This is not a typical marathon training schedule- I initially started training for the Oakland full in November 2011, so my mileage got pretty high.  Since my next race is a half marathon on March 25th, I’m keeping it there!  And hoping for another PR!)

12 thoughts on “San Diego Marathon Training: Weeks 1, 2 & 3

  1. Good job on your training for the next marathon! Although I’ve run a few marathons myself, this May, I’m running one for charity and need to raise money as well. As I’ve never been involved with raising money for a race before, I was wondering if you could give me some ideas for how I can do a good job raising as much as I can?

    • I am a fan of the online auction or raffle- utilize the power of your blog to obtain item donations and then raffle off entries or handle it akin to a silent auction. I’ve done both and they were very successful! Also, go to your community and work out events with local restaurants and/or businesses. Lots of sports stores are willing to do a shopping event for you where you bring in the people, they shop with your flyer, and a percentage of all proceeds go to your fund raising efforts. I think I’ll do a longer post on this topic… stay tuned… and thanks for the idea! 🙂 Good luck with your event!

  2. Ack! I didn’t realize you were so sick this week, that blows! Your pace is looking great on those runs early this week though–bet you’ll be back to awesome on Saturday.

  3. I’m also training for the Oakland half, and was way ahead of schedule… until I got sick earlier this week. Luckily it passed quickly, but by then I didn’t have hot water, so I held off on running for the past 2 days. I’ll need to ramp back up to 10 miles soon!
    See you at the practice run next Sunday??

  4. nike is a tough course! i loved it but seriously super hilly. San Diego is one of my favorite races ever and a much easier course 🙂

    good luck with the awesome goals and thanks for joining the vegan challenge. i hope it’s going well so far

What do you think?

