New Year, New Plan, Same Mojo

Happy New Year, blogosphere!  What a year it’s been- I’m really glad to be done with 2011!  2011 was not the best year for me personally, I admit, but my running “career” was greatly advanced, highlighted by completing my first marathon.  Going into 2012, I aim to complete a second marathon.

If you have been following, you know that I originally planned to run the Oakland Marathon; however, a girl reserves the right to change her mind!  And I have.  My goal is now the San Diego Rock n’ Roll Marathon in June and I will be fundraising for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society once again to get there.

I've got you in my sights, San Diego!

That’s running resolution #1. And that’s all I’ve got. I’m not resolving to do anything different or better with my running… just keep on keepin’ on, race once a month, hit those longs runs, and stay dedicated to my cause, my team, and my training goals.

No problem!

So why did I switch to the San Diego full?  Well, mainly because December was so incredibly  evil in terms of health and sticking to the training that having a reprieve until June feels very, very nice.  Also, I absolutely love San Diego!  I went to USC while hubby went to UCSD and any free time I had, I spent in San Diego. I haven’t been there in years so am really looking forward to the trip and seeing old friends.  And finally, I was surprised to see more donations for LLS come in even after I completed the marathon that, having about a $800 head start, made it an easy decision to make.  (There is absolutely no way I want to leave this great team!  If I fund raise now, I know I am in for at least one more year- they’ll never get rid of me!!!  BWAH HA HA!!!)

That being said, if you would like to support me and help blood cancer patients live longer and better lives, please make a donation (any amount helps!) to my fundraising page and keep checking back- I have an auction, sale, and raffle planned in the next couple months, all benefiting LLS, to help me reach my goal!

I really felt my motivation wane towards the end of 2011.  The weather, the sickness, the constant social and family obligations made training very hard but I always got out to move my body, even if just once a week.  The feeling of having completed a really poor run is much better than the feeling of having done nothing at all!

I don’t know if saying good bye to 2011 or hello to 2012 is more invigorating, but mentally, I am prepared to tackle this year with strength, positivity, and focus- not just in my running, but in my day-to-day life as well.

How do you feel about the new year?  What are your running resolutions/ goals for 2012?

Goodbye 2011 and Bring It On, 2012!!!

 

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Plan, Same Mojo

    • That’s actually all my bibs to date- I only completed 8 races in 2011 as I was injured in the beginning of the year- but I certainly need a fresh wall to start 2012!

What do you think?

