Meatless Monday

Happy Monday!  I had such a great weekend!  The kids were with the grandparents so Hubby and I went out for a date on Saturday night to a local wine bar and then had a date day on Sunday at our local Farmer’s Market followed by a feast at the House of Chicken and Waffles– we ate and drank a ton, relaxed a lot.  I did not run once and didn’t even feel guilty about it! Ahhhhhh….

cheers!

right back atcha!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To make up for all that over-indulging, I am embracing a vegetarian diet not just for today but pretty much for the rest of the week as my body needs to detox from all this steak, chicken, cured meat, wine, and cheese I’ve been eating!  (I blame my over-consumption on the marathon.  I realize it was over a week ago but I’m still celebrating, okay?)

I am a big recipe collector and now that I am blogging, even more so!  I had about 6 blogged-recipes that I wanted to prepare for this detox week so when we went to the Farmer’s Market yesterday, I was armed with a huge shopping list.  We got everything on it and then some!  Check out our haul:

uh, just ignore that london broil over there

Nothing says fall to me like the smell of a good pumpkin bread baking in the oven, so I whipped up a Pumpkin-Chocolate-Pecan Bread recipe that I found from one of my favorite food blogs, Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide (his recipes are mouth-watering, check Rufus out here).  I made just a couple adjustments, my version follows:

Pumpkin Bread

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup hard cider
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tblspn cinnamon
  • pinch ground cloves
  • pinch of allspice
  • 1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a loaf pan. Mix flours, baking powder and spices in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl whisk together brown sugar, molasses, butter, cider, pumpkin and egg until well incorporated. Add all at once to dry ingredients. Stir until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate and pecans. Pour in loaf pan. Cook until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Cool before slicing.

a little hard cider for the bread and the rest for me- baking is fun.

mmmm warm pumpkiny goodness

For breakfast this morning, how could I resist?!  A slice of pumpkin bread with my morning coffee and a little Farmer’s Market fruit salad on the side- just delish!

yum yum yum

Rufus is just one of the many food bloggers I follow, another favorite is Heidi at 101 Cookbooks.  She recently posted a recipe for Baked Quinoa Patties that I had to try… whipped up a bunch and they are so good, I had 4 of them plus an apple for lunch today.

aminos and protein all in one!

With the left over kale from the patties, I decided to make some kale chips- the whole family loves them, yes, even the kids!  A while ago, I came across a website that listed at least 100 different iterations of flavored kale chips, and of course now I can’t find it. (If you have seen this site with kale chips a’plenty, please shoot the link my way!)  Luckily, basic kale chips are the simplest thing to make on the planet: kale + olive oil + bake + salt = easy peasy and oh so healthy!

Kale Chips

  • 4 giant handfuls of kale, torn into bite-sized pieces and tough stems removed
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • sea salt or kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place the kale leaves into a salad spinner and spin all of the water out of the kale and blot any extra water left on the leaves with a paper towel (they must be dry or they will steam instead of crisp). Place the kale on the baking sheet and drizzle olive oil over the leaves, toss to coat. Bake for 12 minutes until leaves are crisp. If the leaves are paper-thin crackly, the kale is done. If the leaves are still a bit soft, leave them in for another 2 minutes until crispy, be sure not to let the leaves turn brown. Remove from oven, sprinkle with salt, and serve!

smile if you wanna be on mommy's blog!

This evening, I am going to a pot luck so am in one of those eating situations where I have no control over what is going to be served, very contrary to how I run my household where I am the Master Chef and have the mentality that you-will-eat-what-I-make-and-like-it-or-you-get-nothing. (Yet, my kids still love me!  Hunh!) In an effort to stick with my Meatless Monday goal, I am putting together one of my favorite corn salads for the pot luck.  I don’t recall where I found this recipe or the exact measurements of the ingredients, but every time I make it for a crowd, it turns out perfectly and disappears very quickly!  A small bowl of this and a couple slices of bread and I’ll be set for dinner, meaty potluck distractions be darned.

Laura’s Corn-Walnut-Feta Salad

  • 4 cups corn kernels (can use raw or cooked, fresh or canned or frozen)
  • 1 cup roasted* walnuts, chopped (*roast in over at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes, or until you can smell that nutty aroma)
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and diced
  • juice of 4 fresh limes
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • Crumbled feta cheese

Put first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, mix, add salt and pepper to taste, sprinkle with as much or as little feta as you like, serve and enjoy!

made for sharing

How do you handle the aftermath of an over-indulgent weekend?  Change your diet and go vegetarian until you no longer feel guilty like me?  Work out more?  Fast? Cleanse? I would love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, and recipes!

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday All Week Long | running4thereason

What do you think?

