Meatless Monday

From now on, I am going to post a Meatless Monday feature wherein every Monday you can visit my blog and expect a different one-day meatless menu including 3 meals and 1-2 snacks.  Normally, I try to eat vegetarian 3-4 days every week but as I tend to indulge in steak on Saturday and pork or chicken on Sunday, by Monday I’m ready to clean my body out.

For breakfast, I had some time to myself so went to a local Noah’s Bagels and had the mushroom, spinach, and swiss Egg Mitt sandwich on a honey wheat bagel thin (which is about 150 calories less than a regular bagel, bringing the total of the sandwich to a little over 400 calories) with some salt and pepper, no butter, and a small cup of that tasty vanilla coffee Noah’s has- I think it’s called Chelsea- a perfect way to start the day!

(I just thought of this so neglected to take a photograph of my breakfast so will borrow in the meantime…)

vegetarian and oh so delish!

For lunch, I made one of my most favorite versions of Veggie Tacos.  I was so hungry that I ate it so fast and, again, neglected to take a photo.  I will have these tacos for lunch again tomorrow and promise to snap a pic before I chow down.  Promise.

Veggie Tacos
-2/3 cup Morning Star Meatless Crumbles
-2 corn tortillas (currently, La Tortilla Factory White Corn Tortillas)
-1-2 cups of fresh organic spinach, rinsed & patted dry
-Pico de Gallo (I love the Trader Joe’s version)
-1/4 avocado, cubed

Saute the meatless crumbles until cooked through, 3-5 minutes, then divide among the 2 tortillas.  Microwave for 30 seconds, then top with spinach, pico de gallo, and avocado. Makes 2 tacos, all for me.

For a quick snack, today’s was simple: baby carrots, hummus, apple slices, and walnuts. Got my good fats, good carbs, a bit of fruit, and protein all in one snack.

snack time!

For dinner, I made polenta with veggies.  Adding a bit of blue cheese to the polenta adds a little more fat, sure, but a lot more flavor and after being such a nutritionally good girl all day, I deserve it!

Polenta & Veggies for 2
-1 tblspn EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
-1/2 package (about 4-6 ounces) pre-sliced mushrooms (I went for button this time, sometimes I use baby bellas)
-about a teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
-about a cup of sliced yellow onion
-1/2 large red bell pepper, sliced
-minced garlic (to your liking, I like A LOT)
-SnP (salt & pepper)
-1 1/2 cups low-fat milk
-1/4 cup water
-1/3 cup quick cooking polenta (which always takes me FOREVER to find at the store as it was located in the baking area as opposed to the pasta/rice area- strange)
-about 2 ounces crumbled blue cheese

Heat 1/2 tablespoon EVOO in a large skillet, add shrooms and thyme, saute for 3-4 minutes.  Add the rest of the EVOO, bell pepper, onion, garlic and SnP to your liking, and saute until the veggies are tender, 8-10 minutes. Combine milk, water, dash of SnP in another pan, bring to a boil, add polenta, then cook for about 5-8 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat, stir in the cheese, plate, put veggies on top & Bon Appetit!

mmm... blue cheesey...

And, since our backyard has been overrun by blackberries, I decided to make a Blackberry Cobbler recipe I found from Real Simple.  I’ve never made a cake with pancake mix before (I used Bisquick Heart Smart mix) but it turned out great!  I think I should have picked a few more blackberries as the pancake mix completely took over, but still delicious and I’ve certainly earned it!  A little bit, that is!

right out of the oven!

And then I did the stupidest thing- I made my own whipped cream.  I do not suggest this unless you have sado-massachistic tendencies, it’s a wonder I’m even able to type now, but here is my recipe nonetheless:

Whipped Cream- Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Style
-1 cup heavy whipping cream
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract
-1 tablespoon powdered sugar

Beat cream until peaks begin to form or until you pass out.  If you have any life left in you, beat in vanilla and sugar until it looks like… um… whipped cream!  Not sure how one would, but be careful not over beat as it doesn’t take much to turn it right back into cream.

Great way to start the week!

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

What do you think?

