Today’s Reason: Marathon?

Today is the day I officially went crazy.  Today is the day I decided to run a Marathon.

What, exactly, am I thinking?  Well, I tell ya, I’m thinking a lot of things…

Mainly, I’m thinking of the parents of Baby Dawson, a 5 month old suffering from Leukemia.  I’m thinking about that baby being able to live the best life he can.  I’m thinking about Louie Bonpua who died at 37 from Leukemia and completed 9 triathalons, one Iron Man, and was able to carry the Olympic Torch before he passed away.  I’m thinking about the countless other Team in Training honorees who are currently living and surviving cancer.  I don’t have cancer.  I don’t have to endure chemotherapy.  Running for 4 hours really isn’t much to complain about in comparison!  I have my health, the ability, and the opportunity thanks to Team in Training– so, here I am, ready to seize my opportunity.

On the other hand, I am thinking a LOT about that ability part of running 26.2 miles.  I’ve only done one half marathon, started training for a second, and injured my IT Band.  With my 1st half, my hip was the trouble and when I hit mile 10, I had to walk/jog and was incredibly disappointed in myself.  In preparing for the 2nd half,  I felt like I had done everything right, was really consistent with my training and nutrition but fell to crippling knee pain when I hit 10 miles in my training.  I kept trying to rest a little and get back to it, but the pain was too great.  I was diagnosed with ITBS and spent 2 months off, following the RICE plan and have been running successfully (read: pain free) since May.  I am worried that if I go for it all, I may get nothing in the end.

I’ve only had 2 training runs with Team in Training and, so far, I can tell from the coaches and from the training plan that they really prepare you for success.  It’s 5 months of professional training, with a ton of support.  If I follow the coaches’ plan, stay consistent, get plenty of rest, and eat right, it will be a piece of cake.  (Well, not entirely, it still is 26.2 fricking miles!)

So, for now, I am going for it but it will still be Marathon-question-mark and not Marathon-period until I go over 10 miles in my training, I sure hope my body holds up!  Wish me luck and keep those fingers crossed!

(And, of course, if you want to support my endeavors and donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, please visit my Fundraising Page!)

winner or weirdo?

7 thoughts on “Today’s Reason: Marathon?

  1. The more I think about it the more goose-bumply excited I am for you that you’re doing this. It’s the perfect time, the perfect support group and motivation, the perfect training regimen for injury avoidance. You’ll do great!

    • Thank you, Andrea! As long as ITB stays quiet, I should be okay- fingers crossed! 20 mile training run seems pretty impossible right now, gotta get my “mental toughness” together!

  2. “I don’t have cancer. I don’t have to endure chemotherapy. Running for 4 hours really isn’t much to complain about in comparison! ”

    THIS!

    In the grand scheme of things we should be thankful to have the ability to at least drag our butts over the finish line at 26.2 miles. Most people are not able to walk a 10th of this distance!

  3. Pingback: Today’s Reason: Marathon. | running4thereason

What do you think?

